The Glamorous Feet Of a Runner

Take a look at these lovelies, all gussied up in KT Tape.

At least I don’t have any black toenails at the moment.

Currently, I’m battling Plantar Fasciitis – arch pain – in both my feet, but mostly in the right foot. Right now, I’m in “maintenance” mode with it. That means that I wrap it, stretch it, ice it, roll it and baby it a bit, but I’m able to run on it in normal circumstances. Maybe even push the pace a little. (And for those of you familiar with KT Tape wrapping for Plantar Fasciitis, I do wrap it a bit differently than the instructions say. You gotta do what works.)

Oh, and there’s The Boot:

marathon training plantar fasciitis

Sexy. I think the pedi helps distract from it a little.

It started during my second pregnancy (over 4 years ago!). Teaching + on feet all day + pregnant = Feet That Will Crave Arch Support. Having PF, and my desire to keep running, has made me rethink my shoe wardrobe. Most of my shoe pride has gone out the window in favor of comfort. Maybe it’s due to getting older, but I’m no longer willing to sacrifice comfort for style. Gone are even the moderately high heels, and I have to search long and hard for shoes that I can wear to work all day that look both professional and fashionable. I’m not going to wear clunkers, but it’s more important to me to take care of my feet so that I can run, than it is to wear a pair of sassy heels. Plus, I wouldn’t be able to do Math Fact Jumping Jacks with the students, then, would I?

So, for the winter, this is how my feet will look, and I’m ok with that. When it gets warmer, I’m hoping my feet will be stronger and I can ditch the tape. But I will do what I have to do to keep running, awful feet and all.

What sacrifices in style have you made (or not made) for your sport?

2 thoughts on “The Glamorous Feet Of a Runner

  1. I now know when my sneakers have hit 500 miles…my Achilles start to creak. But the biggest change I’ve had to make? I actually went to the doctor for an old shoulder injury that I just figured was here to stay. Well, 2 weeks of PT later and if feels like I just might be able to swim distance again after all! So my biggest change is actually takeout self-diagnosing and treating, lol

Leave a Reply

