A Weird Run

A recent long run was weird for several reasons:

  • It was very cold. That in and of itself isn’t weird. But I didn’t bail because of it, which is weird.
  • I had a cold. Didn’t bail. Weird.
  • We went to the Jersey Shore for the weekend. It snowed there. Beach + snow = weirds me out.
  • I peed under a bridge. Sorry, TMI, but weird.
  • And finally, when hubby and I ran on the boardwalk, it looked like this:

That's hubby, running on the right. I can tell that's him because uh, HE'S THE ONLY PERSON AROUND FOR MILES.

Weird, weird, WEIRD!!

(Now that I’ve typed the word weird several times, I’m staring at it, and I think I’ve misspelled it because it looks weird.)

So my weird run began just after dawn. I needed to get in 7 miles, according to my race calendar. Hubby and I had a rare opportunity to run together, so we mapped the route and went. It was about 20 degrees, but the wind…oh, the wind…was gusting about 30 m.p.h. I knew it was going to be a slog.

That's Mr. See-Nancy-Run and myself, at the start of the weirdness. Oh, another small, but weird thing: I forgot my contacts and had to run with my eyeglasses. Always weird.

We started on the boardwalk and realized we were the only ones there. If you’ve ever been to Ocean City, New Jersey’s boardwalk, you were probably there with throngs of people. I felt like I was in the twilight zone as we ran through…no one.

O.C. got about 3 inches of snow the night before. You’d think that 3 inches wouldn’t be that hard to run through, and I didn’t think it was at first…until about mile 2, when my ankles started to throb. I guess I was running stiff-footed in order to try and “grip” the boards (at times the wind had blown away the snow leaving a sheet of ice). Just keep going, I chanted to myself.

We ran to the end of the boardwalk and into the beautiful Gardens neighborhood of O.C. This was going to be an out-and-back run, meaning you run in one direction, hit the halfway mark of your goal, turn around and run back. Our goal was to get to the base bridge off the island, at the 3.5 mile mark, and turn around.

The problem is, by the time I was within a mile of the bridge, I really had to pee. I’m horrible at timing my fluids. We knew that the restrooms on the boardwalk would likely be open on the way back, but dammit, that would throw off the course. Must get to bridge! There’s a beach entrance at the base of the bridge. I was hoping for a port-a-toilet there, but no such luck. I really needed to go.

Hubby and I ran to the beach and I was desperate. So I ducked under the bridge, just where it meets the sand. Peeing outside is always tricky, but 30 m.p.h. winds required a level of deftness that I wasn’t sure I had. But mission accomplished, and we set off back through the gardens. Of course, we passed not one, but two port-a-toilets at house construction sites on the way back. Grrr.

Back on the boardwalk, there were more footprints, but still basically empty:

See that building on the far left horizon? That’s the Music Pier. It has restrooms, just so you know. (I timed those fluids very badly.)

It’s already a slow run and I’ve stopped twice, why not take a photo of myself in triple layers in the shadow of the music pier?

If photos could convey bitter cold, you'd be grabbing a blanket right now.

So as the run ended, I grabbed an “arty” picture of…

…my duck-footed footprints.

Soemtimes on long runs I push myself to do a little extra, but this time I stopped the second the GPS hit 7.00, and not one hundredth of a mile more. The weird run was over.

Oh, and as I walking back to meet hubby, I started to see a few more people on the boardwalk. Guess what they were doing?

Running.

No doubt about it, runners are weird.

Had any weird runs lately?

10 thoughts on “A Weird Run

    • Thanks! It was fun to write. I didn’t come up with the “weird” angle until I started typing. Most of my runs are (thankfully) uneventful, an those are the challenging posts.

  1. I am not a runner by any stretch of imagination but I do enjoy reading your posts. Keep them coming. You are a true source of inspiration to do what we love.

  2. Weird, maybe. Crazy, yes. 🙂 But, worth it for the photos. I guess you could have walked and taken some cool photos too. hmmmm? All jokes aside, congrats! Way to push through the challenge and feel a sense of major accomplishment. Well done. Much too cold for me. Not to mention too far too. I’ll stick to my 2 mile jogs. Keep going. Maybe I’ll be inspired.

    • Yeah, it was pretty crazy. D is way more hearty than myself, but we never get to run together so I went. I really expected more people to be out. I’m glad I was wrong.

  3. Weird in ancient English meant fate or destiny. In middle English, the word evolved to mean the Greek or Roman fates. In Celtic, weird pertained to spells, magic, and witchcraft.

    The uncanny thing about the word weird is this: Just saying it makes one feel a bit strange and enchanted, as though the word itself was enough to conjure up some sort of Celtic spell from the murky depths of time.

    In any case, Nancy, I believe that it was entirely fitting to entitle this post “The Weird Run.” It seems as though your fate and destiny is to be a world-class runner. There’s a bit of magic in this running thing as well; A spell has been cast, and you are in its thrall. The wonderful end result of this magic is that we all benefit from it, as we take this amazing journey with you. In the icing-on-the-cake department: You’re healthy, happy, and continually setting up new challenges for yourself. And the awesome example you are setting for your children is the cherry on top.

    Hey, you get to eat the cake! Guilt free!

    Thanks for sharing “The Weird Run.” Love the photos of (one of) my hometowns!

    P.S. Do we all have to call him “Mr. See-Nancy-Run” now? Would it be okay to shorten it to Mr. SNR?

  4. Nancy…you are a much tougher woman than I could ever be. Kudos to you for even getting out of bed on a bitter cold day like that!

Leave a Reply

