Five Songs To Rally With

I’m constantly adding to and taking away from my Running Mix. Right now, I have about 4 hours of songs just on that mix alone. I previously wrote about how listening to a certain Tom Petty song helped to give me my first runner’s high, and I started thinking about how crucial a good running mix is to a long run, a race, or just a bad week. The right songs can really turn things around – everyone needs a good rally.

So turn those hats around, as I just picked out my favorite Five Songs To Rally With. These are songs that will lift your heart, and your heartbeat.

Don’t Stop Believin’ – Journey  Journey’s Greatest Hits was the 2nd CD I ever bought. (Yes, I did own vinyl, too!) I love that David Chase used it for the final scene in The Sopranos. If ever there was a “Go get ’em” song, this is it.

Amongst the Wave – Pearl Jam Running brought me to a place in my life where I am indeed, riding high amongst the waves. As a word nerd, I also love that my favorite grunge band used the word “amongst” in the title of a song.

Dog Days Are Over – Florence + The Machine Whoa, this gal can sing. Run fast for your mother/run fast for you father/run for our children/for you sisters and your brothers…” This song is my main ringtone on my phone.

Second Chance – Peter Bjorn & John  I just love this gem. You can’t count on the second chance/The second change can never be found/You can’t count on the second try/The second try will never come round. I plan on sticking this song in my mix wherever I think that I might hit that “wall” during a race, so that hopefully I can remind myself that I might not get a second chance to run it. Themes: Live life in the present, and MORE COWBELL.

Born Again – Cory Chisel & The Wandering Sons Sometimes I hit FF just to hit this song. Running as reinvention. Reinventing your priorities, your body, your self. With this song, I am reminded that happiness is my own doing, and that we can all be “born again”.

You can stream all of these songs on playlist.com, by clicking on this link, so that you can hear these gems for yourself.

Help me add to my list. What running songs make your heart soar and make you put your rally cap on?

2 thoughts on “Five Songs To Rally With

  1. I am still trying to find my ‘song groove,’ but a recent suggestion to listen to Foster the People while running was brilliant. While you may dislike the lyrics at first listen (better run, better run, faster than my bullet), after understanding the lyrics you will see the band is publicizing the fate of many inner city kids, not advocating it. And it’s got a great beat, to boot! Thanks for your inspiration, Nancy!

Leave a Reply

