Sick and Tired and Not Running

April’s running calendar was a total winner. (*sarcasm font*).

A Sucktastic Month.

After the high of setting a new PR at the Danbury Half Marathon on April 1st, my running has gone downhill faster than a person in a rhino costume flying down the 59th Street Bridge at the NYC Marathon.

Resting after an endurance challenge for most people involves either A) No running and light cross-training or  of B) Doing smaller, easy runs, adding miles over the course of a couple of weeks, also called a “reverse taper”.  I found out that I am much more of an A runner. I tried to do an “easy” run about 4 days after the race, and my legs just wouldn’t have it. It was the kind of run that makes you shout, “For the love of Pete, why is this so hard?!” (not that I did that or anything.)

So I switched to having a non-running race recovery period. I took a couple of light walks, but then…

Spring decided to show up early. My allergies, which I can normally control with some Claritin, went completely berserk. I developed a cough, and then a grosser cough, until I couldn’t take any more and went to Urgent care on Sunday, April 15th. I walked away with a diagnosis of bronchitis. But it became clear that after 9 days of antibiotics and I’m still hacking worse than ever, time to get back to my regular doc.

(Meanwhile, no exercise is happening at all because I just didn’t have the energy.)

Regular doc confirmed a diagnoses of double pneumonia (fluid in both lungs). Oh, snap!

So now I’ve been resting/sleeping/coughing/wallowing in self-pity/sleeping for the better part of 4 weeks now. You can see from the calendar that I’m signed up to run another half-marathon at the end of June. I’m supposed to be running 8 miles this weekend, and that just isn’t gonna happen.

20120426-151152.jpg

The thing with pneumonia isn’t necessarily the breathing (which does suck), but the complete and utter lack of energy. I don’t even have the oomph to be frustrated. Forget running, just getting myself a cup of tea is a major ordeal. I even took 4 days off work, which, for those of you who are/know teachers, is waaaaay too long to be out of the classroom. Being the mom of two young children, let’s just say the house has looked better. I’ve decided that there will be no PR for the Fairfield Half Marathon on June 26. I’ll be happy just to finish that one. As for the NYC Marathon on November 4, I just keep thinking (hoping) this won’t affect my training…

Ok, pity party over. Time to get on with things. Someone bring me some tea.

Leave a Reply

