Biting Flies, Nausea, and Perseverance

On a recent vacation to Maine, I did three runs on three different days.

On the first run, it was just supposed to be an “easy” 3 miler. My hubby and I thought it might be great to do a trail run in the Maine woods. It’s a great idea…IF you remember to douse yourself with bug repellant first. If your idea of a good run is swatting biting flies off the back of your beloved whilst running faster than you care to, or diving head first into the car at the end of said run in order to escape said biting flies, then I bow to you. You are not a human. But then again, you would’ve remembered the Off.

On the second run, it was a hot day. One of the multiple hot, hot, hot days the east coast endured this summer. I thought if I just went out early enough and hydrated I could get in a 4 mile speed work session. Wrong-o. It was one of those days that running in the shade was fine, but the second I hit the sun I started melting like the Wicked Witch of the West, and whining aloud to myself as such. I, of Usually Strong Stomach, felt like I was going to hurl after the second 800m repeat. I called it a day and sulked back to the cottage.

The third day, I knew it HAD to be better. That’s just it about running, there will be bad days. And guess what happens when they come? You get over it, because there will be a better run in the future. So lo and behold, the third day I got over it. No biting flies, no nausea-inducing heat, just a challenging run. For my perseverance, I was rewarded with this view:

It was low tide, so ignore the muck.

A lovely view of the Maine shoreline. Aaaahhhh. That’s better.

Had any sucky runs lately? How did you recover?

 

Leave a Reply

