Early Runs Are Actually Quite Nice

Running has turned this Night Owl into an Early Bird.

I have been a night owl all of my life. When I was 8, I used to get in my bed, and after my parents would kiss me goodnight, I would take out a book and read it by the light of the bathroom light shining into my room. When I was 12, I would stay up and clean out my desk or night table, carefully rearranging the contents. When I was in college, I pulled way too many all-nighters. I just try to squeeze in something into every waking moment.

Therefore, I am not a morning person. But now that I’m a mom, a teacher, and a runner, I have no choice. This past summer, I’ve become a convert into the run-first-thing-in-the-morning crowd. Marathon training is a no-excuses kind of commitment, especially the long runs. You can’t skip the long runs.

I was rewarded recently with a beautiful, foggy dawn on a long training run. My friend Lori (who is training for the Marine Corps Marathon – go Lori!) and I were going to do 12 miles on the North County Rail Trail in upper Westchester County. We set off at 6 AM – after picking her up at 5:30 AM, and getting up at 5:00 AM – (I still can’t believe that I’m typing that) and after about 1/2 mile, the trail took us over an old railroad bridge that spanned over the Croton Reservoir. The sun was just peeking up over the hills and breaking through the fog.

20120909-211136.jpg

Breaking dawn.

The fog was blowing through both above us in the sky, and below us on the water. It was sublime.

20120909-211203.jpg

“Let us go in; the fog is rising.” – Emily Dickinson

It was a lovely 12 miler. We were done by 8:30. Eight thirty! I found my happy place in morning, and had the rest of the day to soak in the joyous running afterglow. Of course, I stayed up late that day, but it’s progress, people!

When do you like to run? Are you a morning runner? After work? Evening? Share in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Early Runs Are Actually Quite Nice

  1. Early morning running is the best! Great way to start the day and you make sure you get it done this way. And you get to see some amazing sunrises! Keep after it, Nancy! I enjoy following your journey! I’m running through you and others these days.

Leave a Reply

