Track Is Whack

Once a week, I go to the local high school track and do a speed workout, as assigned by my badass running coach Erin. It’s not my favorite kind of run, but it gives me nostalgic flashbacks to junior high track & field, and I think it really is making me a teeny bit faster.

This week was just plain busy. Back-achingly, mind-numbingly busy…with just about every minute planned and accounted for. I do not thrive on these weeks, but they come with the territory if it’s September and you’re a teacher. I’m…just…so…tired. I dragged myself to the track at 7:00 PM (had to wait until hubby got home from work) and met my friend and fellow teacher Jen-with-one-n. Thank god for the Jens of the world. Track workouts suck much less when you’ve got one with you.

The plan: One mile warm up. 3 x 800m repeats at an average pace between 8:22-8:51, with one 400 “rest” between, then a cool-down mile, for a total of 4 miles. Keep in mind two things: One lap around is 400 meters, and that my fastest ever pace in a race was 9:12 per mile. So doing two laps in a row at that pace was fairly uncomfortable, uncomfortable enough that Jen and I had to stop talking, which should tell you something right there.

In the end, we got it done. We finished. We felt great.

Just kidding.

It kicked our asses.

20120914-212514.jpg

Ugh…just ugh.

One thought on “Track Is Whack

Leave a Reply

