I’m Going With the Flow, and I’m Okay With That

Bronchitis. In March. Two weeks before the NYC Half Marathon. One month after booting pneumonia. You think I’m upset?

Surprisingly, I’m just doing the “oh well” shrug.

I teach first grade. When plans have to change at the last minute, I often tell my students, “We have to go with the flow, AND we have to be okay with that.”

When I got sick again, as a last little present from the last day of February, I knew I had to live those words. What else was I going to do? The NYC Half waits for no one. I’m not going to defer to next year, because the NYRR has already eaten enough of my money with the 2012 marathon-that-didn’t-happen, and who knows if I’ll have the same winter breathing issues again next year?

I have some very understanding doctors who are runners themselves. They gave me an arsenal to fight this thing. This time it’s not just bronchitis, but it’s a continual aggravation of my adult-onset-asthma (of which I’m still working on figuring out the triggers).

20130303-221010.jpg

Coming to the party this time is a nebulizer, and predni-freaking-zone. The BIG GUNS. (Hey, I heard prednizone can make your face puffy. I wonder if it can target the parentheses around my mouth?)

So I’m going to run the New York City Half in two weeks. I’m going to take it easy. I’m going to enjoy the race, take photos, and soak up the atmosphere. No more pity parties. I GET to race in NYC. I GET to run.

And I’m okay with that.

5 thoughts on “I’m Going With the Flow, and I’m Okay With That

  1. We use ” you get what you get and you don’t get upset “. Good luck. Relax and just breathe (hopefully that is punny to you)

  2. Look at all the amazing stuff you have ALREADY accomplished, even with pneumonia, bronchitis, and asthma (and, oh, yeah, being a mom and a wife and a first grade teacher, all tough and important jobs)! You are a constant source of inspiration! Hang in there and kill the half!

Leave a Reply

