A Marathon Decision

Only 604 days until my next marathon. I’d better get a move on that.

When the 2012 NYC Marathon didn’t happen, the New York Road Runners gave the participants a few options as a mea culpa:

  1. A full refund (minus those dang processing fees, of course). This would have been over $200, or
  2. A guaranteed entry to the 2013 NYC Half Marathon on March 17, 2013, or
  3. A guaranteed entry (NOT a free entry, but at the 2012 price) for either the 2013, 2014, or 2015 NYC marathons.

What to do…what to do? I feel like I’m on “House Hunters”. None of the choices are a home run, and I really hate the paint color in that living room and…never mind.

I recently got a horoscope Tweet (I can hear you giggling) which said, “Libras have a tendency to be indecisive over the simplest of decisions.” Well, DUH. But despite that hypothesis, I easily eliminated choice B, because I had already won an entry to the NYC Half through the NYRR’s lottery system. SWEET!

Now it’s between house #1 and house #3. Cue tech-pop-happy-decision-making-music. A full refund sounds temping, but I really, really, REALLY want to run NYC. Even though I’m over the NYC Marathon fail, I still want to do it, dreamer that I am. Twas an itch that wasn’t scratched. Regarding any marathon running in my lifetime, I had planned to be One and Done.  It was my 40th birthday present to myself. But now it’s like I’m out for vengeance/redemption, like in a Tarantino movie. (Just as much cursing, but much less blood. Unless I face plant. It’s happened before.) I know that I can do better than I did in the alternate marathon. Darn you, first-born competitive genes.kill bill unfinished business

Kill bill you aint kidding

So that leaves option 3, but which year? Actually, that’s simple. Training for a marathon is all-consuming, as I found out. Like, the only thing your body will let you do is eat, sleep, work and run, and none of those things you’ll be able to give 100% to. There is no hyperbole in that statement. I would like to add “have a life” to things I’d like to do in the fall of 2013. 2015 sounds too far away. It took me about 2 years of running to mentally and physically build up to a marathon. So…

THERE YOU HAVE IT. 2014 NYC Marathon, here I come! See you in 604 days…

Fellow 2012 NYC Marathoners, what option did you choose and how did you decide? Leave a comment below.

P.S. Don’t even UTTER the word “hurricane” to me around that time or else I might have to kick someone in a hurtful place.

2 thoughts on “A Marathon Decision

  1. I went with refund. We want to have a family soon and this was my last hurrah before that, so it hurt like whoa to not run my beloved city one more time. My alternate race didn’t go as well as I’d hoped, so plan on finding me post baby (whenever that is) pushing a jogging stroller singing the wheels on the marathon shuttle bus!

Leave a Reply

