Marty McFly Learns How To Play Nice

I’m doing my first triathlon in June. I should probably learn how to ride my bike without it turning into an instrument of my own destruction.

Good thing last weekend I took Marty McFly to a bike clinic called “How To Ride In a Group,” given by the Ridgefield Bicycle Company, and I had a blast. BONUS: I didn’t hurt anyone or myself.

20130110-215752.jpg

This is Marty. He’s small and cute and quick, just like his namesake.

Jacqui, the co-owner of the shop, led the clinic, with about 15 people attending. A mom herself, I immediately felt like I was in good hands, and she didn’t make me feel like a newbie (even though I am). She taught us things like: How to signal for potholes, what a “drop policy” is, passing safely, and generally how to not be That A$$hole Biker. (C’mon, we all know one. Or dated one. *shiver*)

I also learned how to ride my bike. I know how to ride a bike, but Marty is my first true road bike. He’s so light and smooth I feel like I could propel into the space-time continuum on him (see what I did there?). He also has shifters that I am unfamiliar with and I had only taken him out ONCE, (between snow storms), since I got fitted (also by RBCo) back in February:

IMG_7877

At this point I looked like I knew what I was doing. ACTING!

Attending this clinic allowed me to put in some supervised time in the saddle, so to speak, before triathlon training starts up in two (!) weeks. I needed to get used to Marty’s various sounds and feels before I ventured out on my own with him. The riding part of the clinic went very well. I didn’t fall or crash, but I did have one spazzy moment where I rode for 1/2 mile trying to get my left foot into the pedal harness (I’m saving up for clipless pedals and bike shoes, and the bravery that comes with using them).

Big thanks to Jacqui and the RBCo for helping me feel way more confident on Marty now.

20130331-222941.jpg

Jacqui and I after the ride. You can tell by the helmet lines on our foreheads. Isn’t the store drool-worthy?

Next on the anxiety list: Conquering open-water swimming with 75 other people. I’ll keep you posted.

4 thoughts on “Marty McFly Learns How To Play Nice

  1. Pingback: Volunteer Like a Mother or, How to Hang Your Head Out a Moving Police Car Window | See Nancy Run.

  2. Pingback: I Did All This, and Saved a Turtle | See Nancy Run.

  3. Pingback: A Triathlon Fashion Show | See Nancy Run.

Leave a Reply

