Tri-ing To Keep My Eyes Open

My husband and are I training for the same triathlon. The race is in 6 weeks. We wanted to both get in 2 workouts on Saturday. It was both awesome and exhausting. Here’s what our day looked like:

6:00 AM: Hubby gets up and heads to gym for Hubby Workout #1.

8:00 AM: Hubby is back from gym and I head to spin class for my Workout #1 with Holla Mary in attendance.

spinning triathlon training

Workout #1. Very zen and very hard.

9:30 AM: After spinning, Mary and I head out for some breakfast and large doses of caffeine. I haven’t seen her in two weeks, so the requisite girl talk time commences.

20130430-213627.jpg

That is my large coffee but not my Mercedes.

10:00 and 10:30 AM: Hubby takes the kids to the dentist for their respective appointments. I’m supposed to meet him there and relieve him so he can go do his workout #2 on his bike.

10:15 AM: He calls me from the dentist as I’m hugging Mary good-bye: Took kids at same time, they’re done, no cavities. Meet us at rec center playground. Youngest daughter The Bot has swim lessons there at 11:20.

10:45 AM: I arrive at the rec center, where there’s a big party going on to celebrate their 10 year anniversary. The Bot gets a her face painted BEFORE swim lessons. (This is foreshadowing for later). Her older brother, Lil’ Bub, was going to hang with us at the pool, but now desperately wants to go with Daddy instead. Daddy relents and agrees to take him for a bike ride. They’ll be back by 2:00 so that I can do workout #2, a 4 mile tempo run.

triathlon training mothering

So full of sass. How does she know how to pose like that?

11:15 AM: I get The Bot changed and for once we are on time for swim lessons. This is a new record.

triathlon training mothering

Happy Swim Girl

12 noon: Swim lessons are over. Realization that face paint has washed off. Howling commences. Face paint line is short. She gets face paint #2. Smiling.
20130430-213702.jpg

12:30 PM: The Bot and I head back to the house. I have to wash Lil’ Bub’s baseball pants (he had two pairs last year, for the love of pete why can I only find one pair?) for his game later. I also have to eat lunch and clean this hideous junk pile called a house. Hubby and I are going on a date night later and we are trying out a sitter for the first time. I do not want her to be scared away by giant blue sparkly toothpaste globs and dried cat puke.

2:15: I am starting to fade. As The Bot helps me out (is it just me, or is it darn satisfying cute to see a 5 year old scrub a tub?) but I’m looking at the clock and it’s after 2:00, where are the boys? Hubby calls, and he’s running late. Hey, at least he took his phone with him, I tell myself.

3:15: The boys arrive, which doesn’t give me enough time to run, shower, and get to Lil’ Bub’s game at 4:00, but I’m gonna try. It’s a 4 mile tempo run, with mile 2 and 3 being significantly faster (that’s feel-the-burn faster) than miles 1 and 4. I pick a relatively flat route and head out for workout #2.

triathlon training mothering running

Sorry, didn’t mean to blind you with my pastiness.

Even though I don’t usually, I took a caffeinated GU before the run. It took every ounce of my being to get this run done, as I was dog tired. I showered a bit longer than I should have due to post-run space-out.

5:00 PM I arrive wet-haired and creaky at the ball game at 5:00. Lil’ Bub gets on base every time. He may not be a powerhouse, but those little legs can fly!

20130430-213719.jpg

The shadows are getting longer…

6:00 PM: Rush home. Dan showers. I clean some more. Sitter arrives at 7:00. We head out to a pub in town.

triathlon training mothering running

Hello stranger. (I’m just glad I didn’t fall asleep in my beer.)

7:00 PM: We toast with a beer and an orange slice. We snarf down some pub food. We go home. We crash on the couch with an episode of House of Cards. I’m a bad girl and I don’t stretch. We fall into bed and my eyes are closed as soon as my head hits the pillow.

We are crazy people. Send help. And chocolate.

4 thoughts on “Tri-ing To Keep My Eyes Open

  1. I’m exhausted just reading that. I need a nap. I thought the face paint would be foreshadowing for a unicorn balloon trying not to look out the window. Still laughing about that.

Leave a Reply

