(Cape) May I Have Some More?

4 words: Cape May Without Kids. I’ll add one more: YIPPPPEEEEE!

I love my children. They are adorable and my universe. They are 8 and 5. But Hubby and I haven’t been away from them for a weekend since…NEVER. How could I have let such a thing happen??

When you don’t have family around, it’s hard. When you don’t have money to drop on a weekend sitter, it’s hard. When you haven’t been away for a whole weekend with the hubs for over 8 years, that’s just WRONG. I want my husband to myself for a whole weekend. I want to run and bike with him without having to hire a sitter. I want to sleep in with no kids having nightmares at 3AM and no cats puking at 4AM.

So when my fabulous brother-in-law and sister-in-law not only gave us a gift certificate to a B&B last fall for our respective milestone birthdays, but offered to take the kids for a weekend, we didn’t hesitate. Yes, yes, a thousand times yes!

Last Friday, we packed up the bikes and headed down to south Jersey, dropped the kids at my Angel-in-Laws’, and headed down to Exit 0: Cape May, New Jersey.

It was a gorgeous spring weekend. Our triathlon is now 5 weeks away, and it’s time to crank it up a notch. We rode 22 miles on our bikes, and ran 4 miles up and down the beach promenade. So it’s also a runcation. A bikecation? Highlights:

Breakfast on a sunny porch.

20130506-221011.jpg

Lighthouses.

20130506-221027.jpg

Beaches.

20130506-221043.jpg

Freshly shorn alpacas.

20130506-221057.jpg

Feeding freshly shorn alpacas.

20130506-221113.jpg

Running 4 miles after biking 22 miles. Then a huge nap.

20130506-221121.jpg

Jersey Shore Victorian Beach Architecture.

20130506-221135.jpg

It was lovely. And I survived. I survived a huge brick workout. I survived a workout with Hubby (he likes to go insane distances). I survived a weekend without my kids.

It might be another 8 years before we get away again. Lordy, I hope not. Cape May I have some more?

Leave a Reply

