Two Races In Two Weekends

First, I realized I wrote my race report for the TriRidgefield Sprint Triathlon without revealing any of my time goals for that race. For every race, I usually have 2-3 goals in descending order of reachability. I just made that word up. Like an “C” goal would be very reachable, “B” goal would be somewhat reachable, and a “A” goal would be if all the stars and planets were aligned that day. My goals for my first tri were:

C: Finish the swim portion alive.

B: Finish the entirety of the race.

A: Finish the entirety of the race under 1 hour 40 minutes.

Extra Credit: Set a PR (personal record) in the 5k run portion of the race.

I’m still blogging, so C goal: Check. I finished and wrote the race report about it, so B goal: Check. I had to wait a few days, but I finally got my total net time, as recorded by the timing chip on my ankle: 1:37:12!!

triathlon training time

Me and my tri guy.

And I’m feeling like a bit of a teacher’s pet, because not only did I meet my “A” goal, but I got extra credit by setting a new 5k PR within the race itself, after I swam and biked. The new PR is 27:28!

Toot Toot! Forgive me, but that’s me tooting my own horn. I have to. This race was challenging, and so was the training. My house is falling into squalor and I tend to fall asleep in my breakfast bagel these days, but I did it.

NEXT UP, I’m running a 10k six days later. Yep, it’s time once again for one of my favorite races, the NYRR Mini 10k. This will be the third year in a row that I’ve raced it. Last year, I had one of the best race days ever, despite running late and wearing a bra that gave me hideous uniboob. Olympian Desiree Davila, whom I accidentally stalked met last year, is running it again this year.

NYRR Mini 10k Desiree Davila

I can’t believe this was a year ago.

I found out she’s running it again this year. You might find me lurking around the VIP tent…

It’s supposed to be pouring buckets of rain in the next 24 hours, ending right as the race is starting. That, compounded with NYRR’s new security/baggage policy (you can only check stuff in the clear bag they give you) will make my already heady “what to wear? what to wear?” anxiety even stronger. I’m also fighting some fresh plantar fasciitis owees in BOTH feet that I think I received on the barefoot run during the swim-to-bike transition in the tri. That being said, here are my goals for tomorrow.

C Goal: Finish the race (and get there on time, with the correct bra).

B Goal: Finish close to my time from last year, which was also a PR at 57:03.

A Goal: Smash a PR without smashing my feet.

Extra Credit: Run into Desi again, she’ll greet me like an old friend, and we’ll swap running tips like BFF’s.

Hey, you never know. It COULD happen. One year ago, I was neither a marathoner nor a triathlete. I just know that ANYTHING can happen, and ANYONE can do it.

Time to go pack and repack my race clothes. Good night!

Leave a Reply

