Pedicures and Making Plans

I’m taking a break. Just a mini-one. I declared my “A” goal for the recent NYRR Mini 10k  to be “Smash a new PR without smashing my feet,” I really got an A- instead. I did kind of smash up my feet, as I do anytime I really push the pace.

First I aggravated the managable-but-always-there plantar fasciitis during the swim-to-bike transition in the triathlon, which was a 100 yard barefoot run first through sand, then on pavement.

triathlon swim

Brain in Heaven, feet in Hell.

Next, I’ve been dealing with ignoring a pain under my right index toe. It got worse after these two back-to-back races, and it feels like I’m walking on a stone. The Googlz tells me it’s encapsulitis, an inflammatory injury, but I’m unsure how to proceed with it, so I’m trying out a new foot doctor soon.

It’s a prefect time for me to take it easy and veg for a couple of weeks, as my school (thanks to Hurricane Sandy) does not get out until June 24th and I’m in the midst of end-of-year insanity. I’m doing the occasional spinning class or bike ride, and I do fully intend to get back in the pool. I just know that I need to stay off my feet for a bit. I even gave my toes a pedicure after the 10k, if by “pedicure” you mean “smudgicure” then you’d be correct.

running feet pedicure

It’s all the rage in the nail art world.

It’s been that way for 10 days. I just kinda left it. “Smudge” is the new “airbrush,” I say.

In the meantime, I’m planning the rest of the year’s races. 2013 was supposed to be the Year of the Hubby’s Race Dreams, but due to some injuries and me not able to control my mouse finger, I have fully taken over the race calendar for the rest of the year. Whoopsie.

On August 18, I will confirm that I’ve gone off the deep end and will do the TriFitness Women’s Triathlon in Norwalk, CT. You know, right on the Long Island Sound. Yep, salt water. Just a geographic hiccup away from being The Ocean. Yikes.

On October 4, I will do my first long-distance replay race, the Ragnar Washington, DC. More to come that later, but it involves running 3 long runs within 36 hours, maybe even at 2:00 in the morning. I have lost my mind.

Then finally, confirming that I have really GONE OFF THE RAILS, I signed up for my second marathon, the Philadelphia Marathon on November 17th. Crazy-train, I am in you.

Well, I’m off to dream of future fun and PR’s and surges and whatnot…and I’m headed to sleep with my old pal, Plantar Fasciitis Boot. Sweet dreams!

20130619-222906.jpg

Leave a Reply

