Hurdling Into Marathon Training

While the westerners have a been frying, we East Coasters have been drowning in rainy, soupy conditions. Perfect time to start training for marathon #2, the Philadelphia Marathon on November 17th!

Starting off with just an “easy” 3 miler, I waited until my husband got home from work and ran close to dusk. If I’m anywhere close to dusk, I usually wear a headlamp.

marathon training

“I will crush you with my smile, my headlamp, and the brute force of my shoulders.” *said with a intimidating Austrian accent*

I had bought some new Brooks Pureflows a while back and I was ready to break them in.

marathon training puddles rain

It’s been a tad wet lately.

I was about a mile into the run and the sanity was starting to creep in and the songs were flowing freely, when suddenly I came within a step of squishing this guy:

marathon training hurdling

My husband thinks it’s a Black Racer. So fitting, right??

I actually hurdled him like I was in some obstacle course race. I’m sure I let out an embarrassing little scream, I was so startled, as he blended right in with the asphalt. I’m not too scared of snakes, so I snapped a photo I could show to my husband, Nature Boy. (My big fear? Drowning. See Open-Water Swimming.)

Right at that moment, when I was hurdling the snake, I had been thinking about this upcoming marathon, and the metaphorical hurdles I would have to jump in order to make it happen.

  • Scheduling Hurdles. I have it better now that it’s summer. But once school is on the horizon and I’m toting the XL teacher bag I will probably have many of those kind of days where every single second of my day is planned with something besides running and I collapse in a spent heap on my pillow and answer my husband’s questions with a grunt. Subhurdles: Laundry Folding Hurdles, Kid Activity Hurdles, Pay Bills On Time Hurdles, Clean Up Cat Puke Hurdles, etc.
  • Physical Hurdles. I’m still battling the dastardly plantar fasciitis and one other annoying-yet-painful foot malady, yet to be diagnosed, that I am worried about. With any luck, there will be no face plants/road rash, or lung issues, or any new, uncalled-for affliction during this training cycle. I hope to have time to strength train and/or stretch more, but see Scheduling Hurdles above. Someone please invent a machine to stretch me in my sleep.
  • Mental Hurdles. These are the biggest ones and sometimes the hardest ones to overcome. I know that I can do better than I did with my first marathon…or can I? More than wanted to do better, I want to feel better at the end of this marathon. Can I do that? I want to, that’s for sure. There are 2x 20 mile long runs scheduled by Badass Coach Erin this cycle. They are a long way off but I’m already worried about which friend I will almost kill on them.

Hurdles, hurdles, everywhere.

IMG_8170Turn around? Or run forward?

With all of life’s hurdles, when in doubt, just RUN FORWARD, friends. Just be sure to look out for snakes.

IMG_8176

5 thoughts on “Hurdling Into Marathon Training

  1. Lilly looks just like you in that last picture. 🙂
    The way I figure it: we have two breasts, we are able to even run in the first place, and we wake up breathing, even when the breathing could be better. That’s a whole lot more than some of our “sisters” can say. So, we will be just fine. Xo

  2. Look at your face in the last photo! That face has bliss written all over it. You look so happy and strong. “RUN FORWARD,” indeed.

  3. Came across your blog, searching for info on The Philadelphia Marathon – I’ll be in the crowd on 11/17 for my first marathon. Looking forward to hearing about your training! I’m on week 1 of Hal Hidgon’s novice 2.
    Lindsey in NY

Leave a Reply

