Two Very Different Kinds Of Running Love

I swear I’ll have the TriFitness race report done soon, but in the meantime, I just wanted to share that I was a recipient of two kinds of love today.

Badass Coach Erin assigned me TEN x 400m repeats. Yes, TEN. 400 meters is once around a standard track. All ten to be executed at a pace between 7:46-8:18 per mile. YEOWZA. With the 400m “rest” in between each one, it’s a total of 5.5 miles – my longest speed session yet.

But I did it. I did it after a long day of herding cats teaching 1st grade (JK! They’re adorbs!). I did it at the track at 7:30 PM, when all I wanted to do was crawl under the covers and watch Vampire Weekend videos. Hot damn, I did it.

speed work marathon training

This is the “I think my coach is trying to kill me” post-workout face.

So she was giving me some tough love, knowing that if I pushed myself, I could Get It Done. She didn’t really try to kill me. Yet.

When I got home, I have no energy to do anything but shove chips and salsa into my piehole (no utensils or plates needed!), Dan shows me a giant, gorgeous, loaded salad he made for me.

speed work marathon training

Plus fig newtons and chocolate soy milk on the side. Excellent.

I spy with my little eye mixed greens, leftover rotisserie chicken, leftover takeout brown rice, avocado, carrots, tomatoes, and goat cheese. YUM YUM in my TUM. Now that’s some LOVE!! Thanks, honey!

LovePeopleFeedThemTastyFoodTwo kinds of love…food love and coach love. I’m so blessed!

One thought on “Two Very Different Kinds Of Running Love

Leave a Reply

