Ragnar-y a Lick Of Common Sense

So the crazy train that I jumped on taking me to the Philadelphia Marathon on November 17th is making one stop on October 3rd.  For about 36 hours, I will run a total of 21 miles (really 20.6 but yes I’m rounding up), chopped into 3 different legs, with 12 strangers, in a van, with some running in the middle of the night.

This stop is called Ragnar Relay: Washington DC!

Yes, a relay! Like the kind where you “pass the baton” on a track. Only this race is made for distance runners and crazy people, who quite often are one and the same. And we “pass a slap bracelet” instead of baton. But does it really matter what you pass when you and your 11 teammates have to cover 200 miles in about 36 hours? Actually, it does matter, as the 12 runners share/live in 2 vans for the duration of the race. So I would say that passing out and passing gas are to be avoided. Passing GU, headlamps, and other runners are to be sought out. Got it?

How did I get roped into this? Well, I roped myself, truth be told. I’m a big fan of the Another Mother Runner gals, Sarah and Dimity, who have written books (Run Like a Mother and Train Like a Mother) specifically for us Mother Runners.

ragnar another mother runner run like a mother

Here we are (Sarah, left and Dimity, right) looking adorable and sweat-less at Another Mother Runner house par-tay back in April.

Upon hearing the news that they’d be forming 2 teams for Ragnar: Washington DC, and without pause to consider my actions, I applied immediately and was chosen for Team Sarah!

It turns out that Ragnar fits quite well into my marathon training plan. Each person on the team runs three “legs” of the relay. According to the Ragnar website, here are my distances and difficulty ratings:

ragnar training marathon legs

Wowza. Apparently it’s the 3rd longest total mileage of the course.

BUT WAIT…the crazy train serves up some Challenge Pie at this stop. Here’s the description of my first leg :

ragnar training hills DC

Yum, yum, I eat hills for breakfast. But that’s like a Denny’s Grand Slam. Pass the tums…

Let’s take a closer look at that elevation chart:

ragnar legs DC training marathon

Sweet mother of Philippides. I’m not worried about the 20.6 total. I’m not worried about running at 2:00 AM. I am however, doing a well-groomed eyebrow raise at that chart, and saying a little prayer that I don’t bonk on the first leg. Because that’s the thing…

I’m used to running for just me! me! me! But now I’m a part of a team…who’s counting on me and my stoopid feet…not to bonk…and to live up to my official  9:02 race pace (that I got at my favorite 10k back in June) that I reported at the onset of this adventure.

So while I’m a little worried, I’m buoyed by the fact my team’s name is…wait for it…

the BADASS MOTHER RUNNERS.

“Badass” is only my favorite word ON THE ENTIRE PLANET! It ’twas meant to be. Killer hills and all.

Oh friends, I have so much more to tell. But I am in The Hell That Is a Teacher’s September. To be continued, after I grade some assessments…

3 thoughts on “Ragnar-y a Lick Of Common Sense

Leave a Reply

