One Year Ago: Marathon MAD-ness

Oh what a difference a year makes. SRSLY.

A year ago, I was recovering from both Hurricane Sandy and my hardest race ever, the NOT-NYC Marathon.

I had become a marathoner. But I sure as hell didn’t feel like one. And even though I somehow avoided a DNF, it just did not turn out like I planned…FAR from it.

lehigh marathon

And that was only at mile 17.

It took me a few months, but I was finally able to “own” it. I made plans to run the 2014 NYC Marathon.

Then, in a moment of mania, just like months after childbirth, I forgot the pain and the pushing and the parts of your body you didn’t even know could become sore, and I signed up for a marathon THIS FALL.

marathon trainingNow that I’ve had a full year to reflect, I’m all the more the wiser for understanding what went wrong, and why I slammed into The Wall big time last year. In four words…THE TAPER FROM HELL:

  • I did not eat or hydrate properly the week before due to Sandy. That’s what happens when you need to eat EVERYTHING in your refrigerator/freezer within 36 hours.
  • I slept very little good sleep due to Sandy, and I’m surprised I got any at all, considering I was sleeping on the floor of my living room and tossing wood into the fireplace at 3:00AM every night, and dealing with a son’s pee-pee sheets that I couldn’t launder.
  • Stress is very, very sneaky. In the days before the marathon, I had found out about a family member’s serious cancer diagnosis. Another family members’ house was badly flooded from Sandy. We could not leave our street for 2 days due to downed trees. We had little or no cell service to check on said loved ones (or to even understand the extent of the damage in the region). Stress crept into my brain, my heart, and every pore of my being. But I thought I “could handle it” because my kids and husband and I were in one piece and we still had a roof over our heads. But the race ultimately proved I wasn’t handling it.
  • It was below freezing and windy in the days leading up to, and including the race. My lungs were not acclimated and they rebelled.
  • I wanted to run NYC, dammit.

NO-SO-FUN FACT THAT I JUST LEARNED: In my town of just of 25,000 people and just 35 square miles, there were over 1,200 trees felled by Hurricane Sandy. And those were just the ones blocking roads or causing damage to structures, not the mention the ones that just fell in yards and gave people instant chainsaw projects.

I don’t want to harp on the Sandy issue too much more. But, really, NOW I KNOW. Now I GET IT. Sleep matters. Eating matters. Asthma management matters. Stress levels MATTER.

As I get ready for my 2nd marathon, The Philadelphia Marathon, I think I’m managing all of things better. But then again we’ve had boring weather this fall.

But I also know, that if for some reason this marathon gets cancelled or postponed, I’ll just deal. Run on. I’ll be stressed, but the bottom line is there will be OTHER RACES to look forward to.

Like Philly in EIGHT DAYS. OMG, OMG, OMG!!!

Friends1Gotta go catch some ZZZZZs!

2 thoughts on “One Year Ago: Marathon MAD-ness

  1. Pingback: “Only” 10 Miles + My Philadelphia Marathon Goals | See Nancy Run.

Leave a Reply

