Looking Forward, Looking Back, Looking Down (So I Don’t Trip)

So I’ve been a little lazy busy. I’m still basking in the afterglow of the Philadelphia Marathon back in November, but I haven’t run one. single. step.

I have an injury to my plantar plate, which is where your toe connects to the rest of your foot. Essentially, it is a partially torn ligament in my second toe. And yep, it’s a running injury. I’ll do a whole blog post on that later, but basically I must take a few months off from running to let it heal. I’m learning to be patient.

And truthfully, in December and January, I didn’t feel like I had anything to write about. The nice thing about being an unpaid blogger, is that I don’t have to write and you can’t make me. But starting to plan 2014’s race calendar has got the ole’ creative juices flowing. Not one to be on time, I figured February, rather than January, is a good time for me to be looking back at 2013, looking forward to 2014, and looking down always to avoid the annual Taking Of a Digger (see 2012’s here and 2013’s here).

2013 Highlights:

WOW. I guess I don’t feel so bad about taking a break from running. Breaks are good. Just ask my sweatshirt dress, which is about the only thing I could comfortably wear in December, as I had gained about 5 post-marathon pounds. Whoa. Another post on that later, too…

2014 training marathon triathlon

Much is blank for now, but just you wait.

Providing my toe cooperates, here’s what I have on tap for 2014:

  • I CAN’T WAIT to be a spectator when my husband runs The Ocean Drive Marathon in southern New Jersey in late March. Seriously, I have a plan to give out orange slices and play rockin’ tunes from the mini-van.
  • I’m going to volunteer to lead the Run Like a Mother 5k on the bike again. This time, I won’t look like one of the bike kids from E.T.
  • MIGHT be doing the Ocean City, NJ Triathlon. Working out logistics on that one…
  • In June, I’ll be strapping on the wetsuit again for the TriRidgefield Sprint Triathlon.
  • In August, I’ll do another triathlon, TBD, but strongly considering the Columbus (Ohio) International Triathlon – I’ll probably do the sprint version.
  • In November, I will FINALLY get to run the New York City Marathon!! (This is the makeup from the Hurricane Sandy snafu in 2012.)

So…that’s the plan, Stan. 2013 is going to be hard to top. But as long as I don’t face-plant, 2014 going to be a great running year.

What do you have planned for 2014?

One thought on “Looking Forward, Looking Back, Looking Down (So I Don’t Trip)

  1. I haven’t run since my first trimester (the baby is six months old now, you do the math…) so I’m easing back in. I have only one race on my calendar so far… Run for the Cows 7 miler. I’m done with sprint triathlons. I don’t enjoy them enough to deal with the discomfort of being wet. LOL

Leave a Reply

