See Nancy NOT Run: How I’m Working Out With a Toe Injury

What can you do when you have an injured toe? Pretty much anything but run and jump. *sigh*.

December ended with me carrying an additional 5 pounds more than my “normal” weight. Cookies, much? Oooof. Just enough to make all the clothes feel tight. It really wasn’t too much cookies, but rather I was still eating like I was running a marathon, even though not only was I NOT training for a marathon, I wasn’t even running at all.

Once January hit, and I was also starting to feel blah and cranky, I resolved to workout 5x per week, even if I couldn’t run. I’ve been:

Swimming: I signed up for an endurance swim class for the winter. I’m determined that the swim will be the least suckiest part of my triathlon game this year. Already, my stroke is better, and I’ve worked up to a mile (MILE!) total workout in the pool. SWIMMER-ARM POWER: ACTIVATE!

swim training off season endurance swim

Makin’ waves

Spinning: I’m keeping with my weekly spin class at a private studio in the woods. As long as I avoid “jumps” and ease into the different cycle positions, my toe is fine. Switching to rigid bike shoes helped tons.

spinning injured runner

Blurry, ’cause I’m spinning so fast

Bike Trainer-ing: I got my husband a bike trainer for Christmas. A perk of being married is that you get to share all gifts, amiright?

bike trainer triathlon injured off-season

Kids’ foam block lift only adds to the superb basement playroom ambiance.

Yoga-ing: I had a Groupon for a Hot Yoga place in my town. I tried it twice. I like yoga, but I’m not feelin’ it for the hot yoga. It’s just too…HOT. Besides, crowded hot yoga is second only to childbirth in modesty loss.

someecards.com - My favorite yoga pose is the Whatever-The-Sanskrit- Word-Is-For-Nap.AMT-ing: There’s this thing at my gym – I didn’t even know what it was at first. It’s like an elliptical, only better. The Adaptive Motion Trainer is hard to explain, so I’ll just link to it here. I’ve been doing some interval training on it, as it’s easy to vary your strides, but I have to make sure I don’t push off to hard. Otherwise, it’s pretty cool.

Precor AMT off season crosstraining

Not me. Not my house.

Cross-fiting: Groupon strikes again. I have a couple of friends who are not the gym-rat type at all, but they LOVE it. So I’d thought I’d try it. So far I’m just in the training phase (learning the moves before partaking in the regular classes) but there is some serious butt-kicking potential here. Also, I did my FIRST AND UGLIEST PULLUP EVER (assisted by the bandz).

crossfit crosstraining pullup

Glorious. Yes, the chin did get over the bar. Barely.

I think I’ll end on that note. Getting a sweat on 5x per week has lifted my mood tremendously. Thank goodness there’s tons of snow and ice around, otherwise, I’d want to be out running. I think once March rolls around, I’m going to get that ITCH to RUN RUN RUN. But, I must have patience and wait for April 1st – my goal date to come back to running.

If you’re injured, what’s your alternative workout? Any runners out there who also so Crossfit? I’m curious as to how to you integrate it in the middle of training for a race. Leave your answers in the comments below.

7 thoughts on “See Nancy NOT Run: How I’m Working Out With a Toe Injury

  1. Nano! I’ve never been as serious a runner as you obviously, but when I was training for my half-marathon I did crossfit 4-5 times a week and then did a training run on the weekend, working up to 9 or 10 miles, I think. I honestly didn’t need to do any other race-specifc training while doing crossfit. Of course, a half isn’t a marathon, but i know marathon running cross fitters who train the same way.

    Good on ya with the pull-up! When I do my assisted pull-ups I step into the band rather than putting my knee into it. One day I want to get a pull-up. Of course, I need to find a crossfit place in Dublin first! 🙂

Leave a Reply

