Adventures of a Fairy Mother Runner

My Mother’s Day was fantastic. I got to…

1. Race Sweep. Last year, I was accidentally thrust into the being the lead bike for Ridgefield’s Run Like a Mother 5k. This year, I was asked to be the Fairy Mother Runner, and come in last place, so that no one else had to be last. (I wish I could take credit for the idea, but alas, I’m not that forward-thinking. Or nice.) I broke my own rule of not racing in costume, but technically I wasn’t racing, so there. The tutu I was handed on race morning was child-size and hot pink. I should’ve just brought the infamous Ragnar Tutu instead. My friend and owner of the Ridgefield Bicycle Company (also a sponsor of the race), Jacqui, led the race on a sweet electric-hybrid bike this year. The whole time was super-fun!

race sweep fairy mother runner

2. Eat a giant homemade waffle. My fabulous husband had breakfast waiting for me after the race, which included a giant homemade waffle the size of my head, blueberries, and 2 perfectly cooked eggs. Sorry, no photo, I ate it too fast.

3. Take a glorious nap. Buoyed by my super-sized breakfast, the urge to nap came on strong, and I did not resist. Sorry, also no photo here. I took a solid hour+ nap, only occasionally interrupted by a shout of “Mooooommmmm!” to which I mumbled, “It’s Mother’s Day, go ask your father.”

4. Pull off a brick workout. Buoyed by my super-sized nap, and being in full-swing for triathlon training, I headed out for a big ole’ brick workout: A bike followed immediately by a run. I had yet to have a decent bike ride this season. Either I was tired, or learning how to work my new pedals, or stuck on the trainer due to the weather. As I headed out to ride the TriRidgefield course (about 12 miles and right by my house) I was determined to not have this ride suck, and it did not disappoint. In fact, I can credit all the millions of Crossfit squats this winter/spring for giving my hamstrings and glutes a little more get-up-and-go than last year. Funny how that works. I finished my bike ride, pulled into the garage, switched out my shirt and shoes, and took off for a 3.5 mile run. Still jelly-legged (hence the name “brick” workout), I ran slower than I wanted, but still felt like I had some energy left in the tank. All said, it was my longest workout of 2014 so far, about 100 minutes. Sha-BAM!

brick workout, triathlon
5. Relax on the porch. I almost fell asleep again.

brick, triathlon, relax

Then I realized we had nothing for dinner. I like to grocery shop (by myself? Yes! With kids? Hellz no!), and hopped over to Whole Foods (don’t usually go there – but hey! Treating myself…and no kids!) and bought ingredients to…

6. Grill lettuce. Yes, you can grill lettuce, and it is FAB! In this case it was romaine heads. I also threw some chicken on for yummy warm caesar salads. Just like a robin, the first grilled romaine heads are always a sure signs of warm weather at our house.

IMG_3195


7. Cuddle with kids. My son was actually running a fever all day. It’s funny how 9-year-old boys still just want their mammas when they’re sick. I also got some sweet cuddle time in with The Bot, who promptly commandeered my Fairy Mother Runner costume for herself.

IMG_9233

All of those things, combined with the first Perfect Weather Day of 2014 (finally!), made it a great day. The only way it could have been better was if my mom was with me. She’s in another state, still fighting the good fight against The Big C. Send good vibes!

How did you spend Mother’s Day? Have you ever gotten to lead or sweep a race? Do you grill your lettuce, too? Leave a comment!

 

 

 

One thought on “Adventures of a Fairy Mother Runner

Leave a Reply

