Small Races Are Great For the Ego

 

“…and I hope, somewhere in the next year, you surprise yourself.” – Neil Gaiman

Check!

I didn’t write anything about it prior to this, but I did my first race of the year (the Run Like a Mother 5k didn’t count, as I wasn’t racing it, I was coming in last on purpose) in mid-May. I didn’t write anything about it because I barely had time to even THINK about it.

Originally planning on spectating my husband, son, brother-in-law, and sister-in-law at The Ocean City, New Jersey Triathlon, I had the opportunity to jump in when my S.I.L. came down with a case of cranky knees (no I didn’t bandit the race with her number, it was legit.)

I was already kind-of in training for TriRidgefield on June 1st, and the NYRR Mini 10k on June 14th. And by “kind-of” I mean looking at my week and thinking, “There is no way I can fit all of this training in,” because May/June leaves my calendar crying “uncle.”

We drove down the Friday night before, still barely thinking about it. This tri was a quirky little tri:

  • 1/4 mile pool swim, timed separately (as in, no rushing out of the pool to the bike)
  • 2 mile run
  • 16 mile bike
  • 2 mile run

While the run & bike portions were longer than I’ve done in a tri before, being at the beach, the course is completely flat. I felt like this was a good tune-up for TriRidgefield, and a way to gauge my fitness now that I’m running again and I’ve been doing Crossfit regularly since January and healing my Incurable $hitty Toe.

triathlon Ocean City swim

triathlon pool swim

Part of my cheering squad.

The swim went well. When it was my turn, I handed my card to a volunteer timer and jumped in and started my laps. I lost a little bit of my warm-up energy waiting in line (there was a separate warm-up lane), so by the time my 7th out of 8 laps came, I was finally getting into a groove and then I saw the timer-person put the kickboard in the water as a signal that it was my last lap. Oh well.

triathlon pool swim Ocean City, NJ

You can see my son getting ready for his swim on the lane to my right.

I got to watch my son’s swim (1/8 mile),

Love this kid.

Love this kid.

and part of my husband’s and my B.I.L.’s. Then I showered (I HAD to get the chlorine out of my hair – if I don’t, it fades the color – PRIORITIES) and changed into my tri-kit for the run/bike/run. It was weird, and I was all thrown off having to change clothing mid-race. I even had time to put my hair into lopsided braids (it’s at a weird length where I can’t quite put it into a middle ponytail as needed for the bike helmet). After I changed I met the rest or the family crew in the parking lot and refueled on a bagel, almond butter, and Mallon’s Sticky Buns, an Ocean City staple.

triathlon ocean city pool swim

Sharing a mid-race smirk with my husband.

I walked outside and the weather could not have been more perfect. Low-60’s, mostly sunny, and a mild breeze. I put my bike in the transtition area, warmed up by running about 1/2 mile, and got ready to run-bike-run.

The race itself was fairly uneventful, but still fun. I took a while to clip into my pedals, as feared. I had a solid bike journey, and because it was 2x out-and-back, got to wave and cheer my family members from the the other side of the road (or while passing me, as my brother-in-law did.)

Off to bike!

Off to bike!

I finished the bike and started the run jelly-legged, and huffed and puffed my way through the last 2 mile run. My chest felt a little tight, and it was starting to get hot, but other than that, I just put my head down and ran. I finished strong, my toe survived, and I found the rest of my family.

triathlon Ocean City

A family that tri’s together…poses for photos together.

We stuck around for the awards, as my husband thought he might have placed in his age-group (he’s a very strong swimmer). As it turns out, my husband placed 3rd in his age group, my son won 1st in his age group, and I PLACED IN MY AGE GROUP!

triathlon age group place Ocean City

My spoils.

Initially, I was awarded 3rd place, and walked away with a spiffy water bottle, visor, and certificate. When the results were posted online later, they must’ve re-jiggered the results and suddenly I’M SECOND in my age-group! Twelfth out of 42 women overall. Small races are GREAT for the ego!

triathlon Ocean City

I shall now lord this accomplishment over the minions in my castle until…up next…TriRidgefield, two weeks later. DUM-DUM-DUMMMMM! Stay tuned for that race report!

Enjoying the Boardwalk post-race.

Enjoying the Boardwalk post-race.

Have you ever placed in a race? Did you lord it over your household? Leave a comment!

4 thoughts on “Small Races Are Great For the Ego

  1. Nice job, Nancy. Yes, I have placed a couple of times in smaller races. I love it when my kids place too. Last summer, I won the Master’s woman category in a 10k, my son won for his age group (age 10), and my husband placed 3rd in his age group. Fun to all be on the podium. I loved how this tri had such “leisurely” transitions. It actually sounds fun, and I don’t have any ambition to try a “tri”.

    • In a normal swim-to-bike transition, I’m so adrenaline-fueled that I stand there going DERP DERP DERP for a few seconds until my brain kicks in. Not having that transition time helped for sure.

Leave a Reply

