It’s the New York Marathon, Baby! Training Week One

On November 2, 2014 I will FINALLY get to run in the New York City Marathon.

This has been FOUR YEARS in the making. What the what?! Yep.

It was way back in the fall of 2010 and I was training for my first half marathon, that I started whispering to myself: “Could I? Could I actually run a marathon?”

This is what happens when you start running and you start to see those little gains, those little jumps in fitness. With every week’s gain in mileage, comes a gain in confidence. It starts giving you dreams of grandeur.

I knew that if I were to attempt a marathon, there was no doubt that it would be New York City. It’s closeby, I used to live there, and my husband has run it twice. It is the Mount Everest of marathons.

In 2011, I earned my spot in the 2012 marathon by using the NYRR 9+1 entry program. It took a crazy amount of effort to get it done, but it didn’t deter me. BRING ON 2012.

In July of 2012, I hired Badass Coach Erin to be my coach, mentor, and cheerleader. I put in the work, I mostly avoided major injuries. I raised over $2000 for LitWorld. I was ready for November 4, 2012.

On October 28, Hurricane Sandy struck. We all know the story, yadda, yadda, yadda.

The marathon was cancelled and I quickly found an alternate marathon to run that day: The Lehigh-Delaware Heritage Marathon near Easton, PA. That marathon was brutal – click here to read the recap. I thought I was ready, but my performance showed that I wasn’t. (It’s the STRESS, stupid!) I cried – a lot. But I finished it. I was a marathoner.

lehigh marathon

Smiling on the outside. Crying on the inside. Actually crying on the outside, too.

But it wasn’t New York City.

New York Road Runners offered a mea culpa to runners to reconcile the cancelled marathon. One of the options was to receive a guaranteed entry spot into the 2013, 2014, or 2015 marathons. I decided to give myself another 2 years to prep for the marathon, and selected 2014.

The new year of 2013 swept in, and so did my itchy race-sign-up-finger. It seems that I just couldn’t wait, and one of my running buds (LORI – I SEE U) twisted my arm into running the 2013 Philadelphia Marathon on November 17th, 2013.

And so I did. I rocked it, knocking 28 minutes off my prior record, and not hitting The Wall. I cried…again. But it was all happy runner endorphin tears this time.

Philadelphia marathon

YES.

But it still wasn’t New York City.

SWISH-PAN FAST FORWARD TO JULY 2014!

Here I am, 17 weeks out from the 2014 TCS New York City Marathon.

Here I thought I was a one-and-done marathoner, and now I’m going for my THIRD. Believe me, I’m not sure how that happened, either.

MARATHON TRAINING WEEK ONE: 18 Miles total

Monday: It started with a…swim? Yep, yep, I’m also training for a sprint triathlon in August. I did a half-mile open-water swim at our town park. Uneventful, other than I could totally tell that swimming hasn’t been a priority for a while. I was feeling a little uninspired.

Tuesday: Crossfit and Softball. I am very much aware that if I’m gonna do a marathon, I need to actually run. IT’S COMING, PEOPLE.

Wednesday: I ran…on the treadmill. Not exactly how I wanted to kick off training, but it was thunder-storming and I had no other option but to ‘mill it for 3 “easy” miles. It was a sweatfest.

marathon training treadmill

Drudgemill.

 

Thursday: A slow, 4 miler in the early morning. I felt tired as I wasn’t sleeping well.

marathon training sleep

I was awake by mile number never.

 

Friday: Crossfit. Lots of running, lots of snatches (that’s a wide-armed bar lift).

Saturday: I did a super-slow, heavy-footed 4 miles before we packed up the van and headed to the Jersey Shore for the week. Still not sleeping well and starting to wonder if I’m going to feel this way the ENTIRE TRAINING CYCLE. UGH.

marathon training

I never fail to scare the crap out of myself running past this driveway mirror.

 

Sunday: I have no idea what happened, but this long run, this 7-miler, was THE BEST RUN OF THE YEAR. I felt light, airy, and stoopid fast. I was high from it all day long. TURN DOWN FOR WHAT??!!

marathon training long run

Salt in the air, salt on my face, finger on the lens. STILL WINNING

And with that, week one is done. New York, HERE I COME!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s the New York Marathon, Baby! Training Week One

Leave a Reply

