Marathon Training Week 3: A Sticky Bricky and Handstand Push Ups

I’m a week behind in my Marathon Training reports. Oopsie.

NYC Marathon Training Week 3 (with some triathlon training sprinkled in) totals:

  • 22 miles ran
  • 18 miles biked
  • 1/2 mile swam
  • 1 Crossfit Workout
  • 1 Softball Game

MONDAY: 1/2 mile open water swim. Our local bike club coordinates with the town beach to have lifeguards available on Monday evenings for Open Water Swim practice. YOU CAN NEVER HAVE TOO MUCH OPEN WATER SWIM practice. For me, that open water panic attack could rear its ugly, choking head any moment. The kids can’t go in the water during OWS, so I handed the camera to my daughter and this is what I got:

open water swim triathlon training

Calm and not panicking.

And these:

triathlon open water swim

If You Give a Kid a Camera…

TUESDAY: Softball! I’ve been playing (albeit inconsistenly due to my schedule) in a women’s softball league in another town. My friend Nancy, whom I got to know about 15 years ago when we were both on the Viacom softball team in NYC, roped me into it.

The Nancy Zone.

The Nancy Zone.

It’s great fun, and our team is called “Team Power Outage,” which could be intimidating or laughable, depending on your perspective.  I pitch, and I have a new malady which I’ve named “Pitcher’s Butt.” My left glute is S-O-R-E from constantly shifting my weight from left to right off the pitching rubber. Who could foresee that pitching would mess up my running game? I have to be foam rollin’ rollin’ rollin’ that cheek constantly to get it to calm the heck down.

WEDNESDAY: I had the blessed opportunity of time on Wednesday morning, so I headed over the rail trail for a brick workout, a bike + run. By the time I started, it was 10AM and getting very sticky. A STICKY BRICKY, yo. I got a breeze on the 18 mile bike ride, but the 3 mile run was kinda soupy. Despite the heat, I really surprised myself on this one. I somehow harnessed the energy to do some fast sprints on the bike, and my 3 mile pace was actually fairly fast, hovering around the 9:00/mile. (Coach Erin is cringing at that sentence, as my runs are supposed to be “easy” at this point. It seems I only have one speed when I get off the bike, brickteen-minutes per mile.)

triathlon training marathon brick

Do a brick, collapse on bricks. It’s that simple.

THURSDAY: Five miles of speedwork at the track. I was really looking forward to getting back on the track, it’s been over 7 months since I had a proper track workout. I did 8 X 400 repeats, with rest lap in between. I was moderately tired from yesterday’s Sticky Bricky, and I didn’t have a goal pace yet, so I just made sure the “fast” laps were faster than the “rest” laps. This felt hard, as it was again late morning and full sun. But, I got ‘er done.

marathon training speedwork track

Break line, indeed.

I brought along my son, who’s pretty good at hanging out by himself (he brought legos and ran with me a bit). A few minutes after I got there, another Mother Runner arrived with her kids in tow, one of which was my son’s age, carrying a soccer ball. After some initial minutes of shyness, the boys ended up kicking the ball around the field and having a grand ole’ time. Sport: The Universal Friend-Maker.

FRIDAY: This was me, at various times, on Friday:

lion sleeping

 

SATURDAY: A Crossfit Sandwich! I ran 2 miles to Crossfit, did the Crossfit workout, then ran 2 miles back to my car. That in and of itself felt hard and kind of badass, but to top it off I made a huge breakthrough in Crossfit: I can now attempt HSPU’s…Handstand Push-Ups!

Handstand PushUps from Nancy Barlow on Vimeo.

Who IS that?! No, really, WHO IS THAT PERSON? I have trouble recognizing myself sometimes. That person will turn 42 this fall and I’m all what the hell am I doing? I’m not supposed to be able to do that?! OR AM I? It’s never too late, folks. NEVER. TOO. LATE. Keep in mind it took me 7 months to work up to the HSPU’s, which makes them all the sweeter (sweatier?) . It just reaffirms to me that slow and steady is the way to go. And, that I NEED this shirt. This is my HSPU shirt

 

SUNDAY: Long, slow run with Lori, 10 miles. We started at the dawn of the dawn, and not even Starbucks was open that early.

marathon training long run

Up at dawn o’clock

Nothing notable, other than I got my FIRST BLISTER OF THE TRAINING CYCLE. Time to bust out the compression socks to combat my feet as they balloon in hot, humid, long runs. This run also required the FIRST ICE BATH OF THE SEASON.

ice bath marathon training

It works, it really works.

I feel like I should be earning a scouting badge when I reach these “milestones”. Next week, pershaps I should aim for the first black toenail of the season? (And WHAT WOULD that badge look like?) I felt like this was one of the most badass training weeks I’ve ever had. I felt strong, I felt like an athlete. I felt like I left my mark.

crossfit HSPU's crosstraining

How did you leave your mark this week? Did you have any badass moments (fitness or otherwise)? Do tell in the comments, you Badass you.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

