Marathon Training Update: A Whole Bunch of YAYs

NYC Marathon training from August 18-September 7, also known as “Hell Weeks” for teachers, went surprisingly smooth. I’m not sure if it’s because this is deja vu, the awesome running weather, the extra sleep I got, or what. I’m sure it’s the “or what.”

Week 7 Highlights:

This week was all about recovery from the Mingoman Triathlon adventures. We drove back from Ohio, and I dove right into schoolwork: Setting up my classroom, attending meetings and professional development, and getting ready for the First Day. Right away, I had to move a scheduled run to another day, but I got it in. There were 3 “easy” runs, and a 10-mile long run. I also wore my GPS watch when I mowed the yard, just to see how many miles it was (with a non-power-assist push mower, mind you).

cross training mowing

I’m guessing it’s not entirely accurate, but apparently, that’s how I roll.

It was actually 1.2 miles total, at a smokin’ 29:31 pace. Kara Goucher, eat your heart out.

That week’s 10-miler was vexing. It felt like a slog-fest, but ended up being an average of 10:52 pace. Anything under 11:00 miles on a long run is quite unusual for me. I was quite tired and a little dehydrated the rest of the day, which goes to show you that PERCEIVED EFFORT is just as important as listening to your GPS watch. But still, YAY!

Week 8 Highlights:

I commemorated the First Day of School by running at 5:30 AM with a headlamp. Overachiever, much?

marathon training dark

‘Tis the season

I actually had good energy this week. I made sure to go to bed early, which for this night owl, is a hard habit to get into. There’s always ONE MORE THING to do before bed, right?

I ended the week with a total, complete, remember-this-run-because-they-don’t-come-along-that-often 16-miler! I ran completely by myself, had virtually no blisters, and had an average of 10:51…whaaaaaaaat? YAY!

marathon training long run

There might have been fist-pumping involved after this run.

It must have been all of the extra zzzz’s.

Week 9 Highlights

This week, in mid-September, summer finally appeared, in all of it’s hot, humid glory. Here’s a poem, referring to speed work on the high school track.

Where art thou,

My sweet track breeze?

Nowhere to be found,

As it’s football practice and 85 degrees.

It stayed hot the whole week. On Saturday, I did my long run of 18-miles. I did 3x 6-mile loops in town starting from the local Starbucks (Restrooms and water? Don’t mind if I do.Three times.) I was comfortable for the first 10 miles, then the sun came out blasting. I was getting a little worried about over-heating, but then, like some glistening beacon of refreshment, I saw the library’s sprinklers were on, and ran right through them with no shame. Later, I saw a random landscaper watering some flowers. I screeched to a stop, threw my hands up in the air, and pleaded “HOSE ME DOWN, PLEASE!!” (He did…twice. Remember, I was running loops.) When I finished my second loop, I saw that the Ridgefield High School baseball team was setting up a car-wash fundraiser next door. Of course, I ran over and asked a bunch of high-school boys to turn the hose on me. I’LL BRING MY CAR OVER WHEN I’M DONE JUST HOSE ME DOWN GUYS. Not weird at all.

marathon training hot

Thumbs up to the baseball boys behind me.

Also during that run, I was randomly joined by another mother runner who recognized me from the Run Like a Mother training sessions last spring. It was delightful as she joined me for miles 12-15 (ish) and we decided we’d run again in the future. YAY for new rando running friends!

Between the hoses and the new friends, it was actually a smashing run, despite the heat. Average pace was 11:17. And I did let the baseball boys wash my car afterward.

YAY for lawn mowing! YAY for hoses! YAY new running friends!

It’s September…let’s hear it now: YAY!

2 thoughts on “Marathon Training Update: A Whole Bunch of YAYs

  1. Love reading your posts. I’m local in south Salem and helped a friend get through her 20 mile run yesterday as she trains for Chicago. Keep up the great work. We probably passes u in ridgefield yesterday:)

Leave a Reply

