4.5 Personal Running Quirks

I like the word quirk. The word itself is quirky, like a visual-type of onomatopoeia. It also rhymes with work, jerk, and twerk, just in case you are a rapper looking for some dope rhymes.

All runners have quirks. On the quirky scale, I’d say these are moderately quirky. I know some runners that have extreme quirks. Some I didn’t even realize were quirks until someone pointed it out to me. Here are 4 of mine that I can think of.

1. I don’t always run with music, but when I do, my headphones’ cord MUST be behind me. I always, always run the cord through the back of my bra. I just can’t have it swinging in front of me, lest I accidentally swipe it with an errant thumb, yank the old iPod Nano out of my pocket, and fling it across the road. (It has happened.)

2. I always wear a hat or visor, even when I’m inside on the treadmill. I need something on my forehead to keep the sweat and sun out of my eyes. A headband isn’t going to cut it. Mostly I reach for hats, because my natural $60 haircolor MUST BE PROTECTED.

Hatapalooza

Hatapalooza

3. I always default to executing loop-style runs in a counter-clockwise direction. It doesn’t matter if it’s a loop in my neighborhood, or a loop in town. Long or short. I think this has something to do with running track at an early age? All it took was ONE middle-school track-and-field season where I ran the 800 meters to imprint a counter-clockwise direction on my runner brain forevah. I almost always finished last or near last in those co-ed races, except for that one time I beat a boy and came in second-to-last. That was GLORIOUS.

4. This is not so much a quirk as it is a ritual. I take a lower-body ice-bath on any run over ten miles. That in and of itself is not so quirky (or maybe it is? I think I lost perspective the moment ice bath entered my vocabulary), but it’s the accessorizing that might put it over the top. I make a cup of steaming milk with a scoop of chocolate protein powder, and together with my favorite raspberry newtons cookies, they go on the edge of the tub ready to be consumed. Then I grab a hoodie and a beanie and put them on (if the bottom part of me will freeze, then the top part of me will be toasty). Next, I lower myself with an f-bomb filled tirade into the icy water, white-knuckle my phone, set the timer for 15 minutes, turn on a running mix, and play Angry Birds Rio until the timer goes off. Every single time. Okay, yeah, that’s a little quirky.

running quirks marathon training

Quirkalicious.

4a. I just thought of a little one. If I’ve reached a turnaround point and there’s a stop sign there, I must reach up and smack the sign. I don’t know why. Perhaps I just like smacking things. #cantstopwontstop.

So that’s my four-and-a-half weird, eccentric running quirks. The best thing about them? They’re mine. I’ll wear them like a badge, because I think they make me run better/stronger/faster. I just know that if I run a clockwise loop with my headphone cord in front and no hat and skip my ice bath, that run’s going to suck.

What are some of your running quirks?

7 thoughts on “4.5 Personal Running Quirks

  1. Cord in front, under shirt, wrapped around/tied to bra strap. Like to alternate directions, and if actually on track, must switch back and forth at regular intervals.No ice baths. That $(tuff) is quirkalicious.

    • I tried the cord in front but i found it tickled my tummy in an unacceptable way. Oh YOU…If I see someone at the track going the “wrong way” I have to tell myself to STFU.

    • I used to pin the cord to the back of my collar with a safety pin, but then I was always losing pins or sticking myself. I haven’t had a problem with the back-of-the-bra yet!

Leave a Reply

